Before Facebook

03Sep12

In all honesty, this is just me cheating on my attempts to reach 10,000 words before I reach 10,000 tweets. Plus I couldn’t sum it up in less than 140 words anyway.

I have this habit of looking up random old nonsense ever since I got timelined (honestly, I haven’t felt the need to complain just yet- I don’t know what the fuss it about!). Anyways, so I realized I joined facebook circa late 2007. Realizing that I had known, and at which point I had already I guess been in a relationship of sorts with, Meor Alif before that, made me realize, and ask him (prompting the biggest laugh I’ve had in awhile) “Hey, we knew each other before facebook. How the hell did we keep in touch online before?”.

After a split-second of self-pity realizing how pathetic the question was, and a look of slight bewilderment from him at how amused I was at the fact, he replied; we blogged about things.

I’m not one to awww at my own stories, but awwwww! He’s absolutely right. We used to keep up with each other’s lives through our blogs (never mind the fact that we lived practically 15 minutes away from each other and saw each other pretty regularly). And I suddenly remembered that was the case for most of my friends at the time. We took time to write things down, feelings, emotions, in complete whole sentences and with considerate length, before 140-character limits and “what’s on your mind” statuses were around and hey, I think we took more time to think about things, and process them too.

I really do think, we all saw a lot more of each other, and knew more about each other, before facebook. Now, all we get are constant picture uploads and snippets of information, which honestly when it’s an album of more than 100 photos, we rather quickly tire of anyway. While there definitely is more volume and content of information that we get about our friends, nothing, I think, beats reading a written account of the going-ons of a person’s life. There’s just a certain rawness to the whole process that lets you in just that little bit more into a person’s life.

Anyway, I guess this is just me letting you in, a little bit more than usual. Wish me luck getting to 10,000 words. If I could write on the impact of globalization on income distribution as fast as I wrote this entry, I’m set. I wish.

Have you done your good deed for the day?

Quick edit: How apt is it that this quote came up right after I published this post. Just had to put it in!

Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers. ISAAC ASIMOV

No Responses Yet to “Before Facebook”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

